Error Codes
Live Currency Rates
Forex Market Hours
Find a Broker's IP
Find Spread & Swap
Find a Broker's Latency
Swap Rate
Recommended Sites
Forex Quiz
- Forex Humour
- New MT5 Platform
- Universal MT4 Platform
- MT4 Keyboard Shortcuts
- Sitemap
- Error Codes
- Live Currency Rates
- Forex Market Hours
- Find a Broker's IP
- Find Spread & Swap
- Find a Broker's Latency
- Swap Rate
- Recommended Sites
- Forex Quiz
Frequently Asked Questions:
The steps are as follows:
- On the top menu bar, select Insert > Indicators.
You can also navigate to the Navigator section and insert chart indicators from there.
This file will have to be of the .mql format, meaning it has to end with .mql.
**For this example, the indicator we want to add will be called test_indicator.mql.**
The steps are as follows:
- Save this file to the following folder, using 'Save As': C:\Program Files\xxxx-MetaTrader4\ experts\indicators\
- After saving, find the file test_indicator.mql in that folder. The symbol for a .mql file is a yellow diamond with an exclamation mark inside it.
- Next, restart MetaTrader and find the new indicator in MetaTrader's Navigator to the left side, in the Custom Indicators folder.
- To add the indicator to a chart, simply select a chart, then double-click on the indicator in the Custom Indicators folder, select any non-default values you would like to have modified, and then select OK.
Disable the anti-virus firewall for the MetaTrader 3 application and open up port 1950. For MetaTrader 4, open up port 443.
The steps are as follows:
- On the top menu bar, select INSERT.
- Then select the desired trend line.
- After releasing the mouse button, a graphic icon of the selected trend line with a cross-hair attached will appear. Using the mouse, place the crosshair over the selected chart. Click and hold the mouse button while moving the mouse to adjust the size of the trend line.
Line study shortcuts can also be quickly accessed by clicking on VIEW > TOOLBARS > LINE STUDIES to make the icons appear right below the Menu Bar.
There are additional options to select that appear on the top of the screen. These include fast clicks to the trend line, crosshair Fibonacci retracement, etc.
On the top Menu bar, select CHARTS > BAR CHART or use the keyboard shortcut (Alt+1).
Use the TERMINAL section of the platform. If this section is not open, go to VIEW > TERMINAL (or use the keyboard shortcut Cntrl+t).
The steps are as follows:
* In the TERMINAL section, select the Account History Tab.
* This tab shows the history of your account. For convenience, this information can be printed.
* Right-click anywhere in this section.
* Select ‘Save as Report’. (This can be saved as an HTML file that can be converted to an * Excel file for your records.)
On the top Menu bar, select CHARTS > CANDLESTICKS CHART or use the keyboard shortcut (Alt+2).
Yes, it certainly can be done using a demo account first if this is your choice. Normally certain terms and conditions apply for API access to the live systems. Please be sure to discuss any project with the appropriate representatives so they can assist with the process.
On the top Menu bar, select CHARTS > LINE CHART or use the keyboard shortcut (Alt+3).
The steps are as follows:
* Make sure the “charts” toolbar has been enabled.
* Next, select the icon for the appropriate action located under the menu bar. i.e. ‘+’ and ‘-‘.
* Select either icon to zoom in or out of the chart.
Or, use the keyboard shortcut for this function. To zoom in (Shift +), and to zoom out, use ( - ).
An email notification with a login name and password will be sent (i.e., Login: “60141” Password: “as4temp”). Download and install the platform. Open the login screen. Note that a screen may open that asks to open an account. "X" out of this screen.
* To log in, go to FILE > LOGIN and type your login and password.
* The server field has a drop-down menu; select the following server: ‘xxxx-MT4 Live Server’.
* Listen for a DING sound (confirmation noise) and your account number will appear in the top left corner of the platform.
If you see prices moving in Market Watch and the correct balance in your Terminal section, you have successfully logged into your live account. If you are experiencing problems logging in, please email the Support Department.
The steps are as follows:
* On the top Menu bar, select TOOLS > OPTIONS or keyboard shortcut (Ctrl+O).
* Under the SERVER tab, select CHANGE.
* Input the current password in the “current password” text field.
* Select ”Change master password” if it is not checked already.
* Input the new password in the “New Password” text field.
* Re-type the new password in the second “Confirm” text field.
On the top menu bar, select VIEW > LANGUAGES and select the language preference.
Most commonly used keyboard shortcuts:
Ctrl + M = Market Watch window
Ctrl + N = Navigator window
Ctrl + T = Terminal window
Within the Market Watch window, all of the currency pairs eligible to trade can be viewed by right-clicking within this section and selecting ‘Show All’. All currency pairs will appear thereafter.
The Market Watch window displays the high/low prices.
The steps are as follows:
* In the Market Watch window, right-click (anywhere)
* Select “High/Low.” (The high and low prices will appear for each currency pair for that particular day.)
Yes. The MetaTrader 4 platform is one of the most advanced platforms in the market and this is especially true regarding the charting options and packages that are provided within.
Use the Help Topics option under the Help Menu (press F1), which has a section labeled ‘Working with Charts’. This section should be a good start to get you going.
To change the overall appearance of the charts, go to Menu bar—Charts--Properties. This allows you to change the color of the background, foreground, grid, etc. To adjust the size of the chart, roll over the border of the window and hold the mouse button down to adjust the size.
To add time periods to the main menu bar, select VIEW > TOOLBARS > PERIODICITY. (If needed) Use the following legend for applying time periods to charts:
M1 = 1 minute chart
M5 = 5 minute chart
M15 = 15 minute chart
M30 = 30 minute chart
H1 = 1 hour chart
H4 = 4-hour chart
D1 = daily chart
W1 = weekly chart
MN = monthly chart
Yes, inside the platform, select HELP > HELP TOPICS. Please note that webinars are available to help with understanding the functionality of the platform.
The time that is displayed on the MetaTrader is viewed as GMT +2. (Greenwich Mean Time plus 2 hours). This can also be viewed as EST + 7, CMT + 9, or PST + 10.
A simple rule that can help keep track of the time zone is that midnight on the platform coincides with 5 pm EST (New York Time). Unfortunately, the time on the MetaTrader platform cannot be changed.
* GMT time varies with daylight savings. GMT + 2 is from Fall to Spring, and GMT + 3 is from Spring to Fall.
The steps are as follows:
* In the platform, select FILE > OPEN AN ACCOUNT.
* Fill in the required information (be sure to check " I agree to subscribe to your newsletters.)"
* Select Next (on the server page).
* Select Next (please note your username and password will appear).
* Select Finish
The software will then automatically log into your new demo account, which will be displayed in the Navigator Window.
MQ4 and EX4 are the only file extensions supported.
Outgoing traffic depends on the user's activity. Outgoing traffic is really small. Incoming traffic directly depends on the number of open chart windows.
All SMTP settings vary depending on your Internet service provider. If this error message is received, contact your ISP's technical support and ask for the SMTP settings. If you use Outlook, you can find out the SMTP settings by going to Tools > Email Accounts > Next > Change (> Cancel when done).
- Select TOOLS > OPTIONS.
- Select the EMAIL tab.
- Edit these settings according to your ISP's requirements. Typically, the light red text is a general guideline that should be entered. For clarification, call your ISP. (Note: web-based email services such as Hotmail, Yahoo, Gmail, and others will not work.).
SMTP Server: This is your ISP's mail server address. SMTP Login: This is your login ID to access your mail. SMTP Pass: Your mail password. From - This is the email address the email will come from. This is typically the same address as stated in the SMTP login field. To - The address you want it to go to.
Before you click on the "TEST" button, be sure to select “OK” to apply the settings, then go back into TOOLS > OPTIONS to test your settings. See the JOURNAL (Terminal window > Journal) for any error messages. The email settings in the tools menu can be combined with an Expert Advisor or Alert that triggers an email sent to you. We do not offer support for this.
- Navigate to the ALERTS tab in the TERMINAL window. Right-click anywhere in this window and select "CREATE."
- Change the “ACTION” menu to ”MAIL.”
- Set your parameters.
- To the far right of the “SOURCE” field is a button with 3 dots, "...". Click this button to edit the specifics of your email (i.e., subject and body). Note: To send an email to your cell phone, keep in mind that some cell phones are limited to 160 characters per message, including the subject line.
- We suggest editing the Timeout and Max Iterations menus. (see below)
- Click Ok.
Timeout means once the criteria are met, it will wait X seconds before generating another signal. Max Iterations means it will generate a signal X amount of times before stopping.
Thus, at default settings, if you do not edit this, you will get an email every 10 seconds for the next three hours.
To have the platform send these alerts to a cell phone as text messages, insert the address in the ”To” field in the Email options (TOOLS > OPTIONS > EMAIL).
To save the settings to default so that whenever a new chart is opened the settings are automatically applied (once the chart is modified), go to the “Template” button (usually the last button on the right of the toolbar), click “Save Template,” and give your template the name "Default.”.
Saving a template will save the following chart settings:
- Chart type (bars, candles, or lines)
- Color chart scale (zoomed in or out)
- Any custom indicators
- Any expert advisors
- Day separators
Yes, gold and silver are available for trading in MetaTrader 4. By default, neither gold nor silver appears on the Market Watch Panel. To display the gold and silver tickers, do the following:
- Right-click in the Market Watch Panel.
- Select "Show All" for Gold (XAU/USD) and Silver (XAG/USD) to appear.
- Gold and Silver (XAUUSD, XAGUSD) market trading time is Sunday 7 PM to Friday 4 PM EST.
If the trailing stop gets triggered, there will be a new stop loss depending on the trailing stop that you entered.
- Forex Humour
- New MT5 Platform
- Universal MT4 Platform
- MT4 Keyboard Shortcuts
- Sitemap
- Error Codes
- Live Currency Rates
- Forex Market Hours
- Find a Broker's IP
- Find Spread & Swap
- Find a Broker's Latency
- Swap Rate
- Recommended Sites
- Forex Quiz

